Mathematics and Computer Science

Faculty and Staff


Salvatore-Petrilli-PhD Salvatore J. Petrilli Department Chair

Research Interests: History of mathematics, applied statistical analysis, and mathematics education (elementary, secondary, collegiate, and administrative)

Science Building, Room 414
p – 516.877.4488
e –

» View Faculty Profile


Victoria Desiderio
Administrative Assistant

Science Building, Room 413
p – 516.877.4476
f – 516.877.4499
e –



Robert Bradley (On Sabbatical)

Research Interests: History of mathematics, probability theory, ergodic theory, random walks, mathematical logic

Science Building, Room 410
p – 516.877.4476
e –

» View Faculty Profile

» Personal Website


Tuval Foguel

Research Interests: Algebra, Group Theory

Science Building, Room 416

p – 516.877.4483
e –

» View Faculty Profile

» Personal Website


William L. Quirin

Research Interests: Algebra, Statistics

Science Building, Room 419
p – 516.877.4487
e –

» View Faculty Profile


Robert M. Siegfried

Research Interests: Computer Ethics, Accessible Computing, Computer Science Education, Quantitative Nondestructive Testing

Science Building, Room 407

p – 516.877.4482
e –

» View Faculty Profile

» Personal Website

Associate Professors


David Chays

Research Interests: Databases, software engineering and testing

Science Building, Room 406
p – 516.877.4479
e –

» View Faculty Profile

» Personal Website


Lee J. Stemkoski

Research Interests: Video game programming, computer graphics, history of mathematics, and number theory

Science Building, Room 418
p – 516.877.4495
e –

» View Faculty Profile

» Personal Website

Assistant Professors


Kees Leune

Research Interests: Privacy, cybersecurity (especially prevention, threat intelligence, incident management, applied cryptography, and strategy), and all things involving Internet-of-Things (IoT)

Science Building, Room 408
p – 516.877.8178
e –

» View Faculty Profile


Branden Stone

Research Interests: Commutative Algebra, Maximal Cohen-Macaulay Modules, Resolutions, Homological Algebra, Hilbert Functions, Macaulay2

Science Building, Room 411
p – 516.237.8584
e –

» Personal Website

Visiting Assistant Professors


Saleh Aliyari

Science Building, Room 417
p – 516.877.4409
e – 

» View Faculty Profile



Shaohui Wang

Research Interests: Applied Mathematics and Optimization, including Graph Theory, Probabilistic Combinatorics and Topological Indices related to Networks and Chemistry

Science Building, Room 405
p – 516.237.8534
e – 

» View Faculty Profile

Adjunct Faculty

Thomas J. Bannon

Christian Correa

James Couture

Michael Di Crescio

Alvin Estrada

Anthony Giangrasso

Kenneth Gittelson

Sung Kim

Ida Klikovac

Walter Meyer

Joseph Pichkur

Mahmood Pournazari

Diane Quirin

Roger A. Regan

Kathy Vargas

John Vargas

Emeritus Faculty

Herbert Kranzer

Herbert Kurss

David Lubell

Walter Meyer

William Steinmetz

Michael Yanowitch